APSA Section on Migration and Citizenship AWARDS

The APSA Section on Migration and Citizenship welcomes nominations and self-nominations for awards for best (1) book, (2) dissertation, (3) chapter, (4) article, and (5) APSA paper.  Section membership is not required for consideration (but we encourage you to become a Section member if you aren’t one already)!  

Details are below; this information will be added to the Section website (http://community.apsanet.org/MigrationCitizenship/home) shortly.  Feel free to forward to interested colleagues.

If you have questions, you can email Els de Graauw (Els.deGraauw@baruch.cuny.edu) or Rogers Smith (rogerss@sas.upenn.edu).

Book Award

Award for best book on migration and/or citizenship published (i.e., printed) in the previous calendar year.  Publishers or other nominators should send one hard copy of a book published (i.e., printed) in 2013 to each committee member by March 31, 2014.  Edited volumes are not eligible for the book award.

Best Book Award Selection Committee 2014:

Martin Heisler (Chair)

Department of Government & Politics

University of Maryland

10 Morningview Circle
Lake Oswego, OR 97035-8840
mheisler@umd.edu

Pei-te Lien

Department of Political Science

University of California, Santa Barbara

MC 9420

Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9420

plien@polsci.ucsb.edu

Daniel Tichenor

Department of Political Science

1284 University of Oregon

Eugene, OR 97403-1284

tichenor@uoregon.edu

Dissertation Award

Award for best dissertation on migration and/or citizenship accepted in the previous calendar year.  Send one electronic copy of a dissertation accepted in 2013 AND a dissertation abstract to each committee member.  Nominees should also request their advisor to send an electronic letter of recommendation to the award committee chair.  All materials are due March 31, 2014.

Best Dissertation Award Selection Committee 2014:

David Plotke (Chair)

New School for Social Research

PlotkeD@newschool.edu

Kristi Andersen

Syracuse University

andersen@maxwell.syr.edu

Ayelet Shachar

University of Toronto

ayelet.shachar@utoronto.ca

Chapter Award

Award for best chapter on migration and/or citizenship published (i.e., printed) in the previous calendar year.  Send one electronic copy of a chapter published (i.e., printed) in 2013 to each committee member by March 31, 2014.

Best Chapter Award Selection Committee 2014:

Lisa García Bedolla (Chair)

University of California, Berkeley

lgarciab@berkeley.edu

Yasmeen Abu-Laban

University of Alberta

yasmeen@ualberta.ca

Julie Mostov

Drexel University

mostovj@drexel.edu

 

Article Award

Award for best article on migration and/or citizenship published (i.e., printed) in the previous calendar year.  Send one electronic copy (pls. send a hard copy only to the chair) of an article published (i.e., printed) in 2013 to each committee member by March 31, 2014.

Best Article Award Selection Committee 2014:

Jackie Stevens (Chair)

Political Science Department

Northwestern University

601 University Place

Evanston, IL 60208

Joel Fetzer

Pepperdine University

joel.fetzer@pepperdine.edu

Phil Triadafilopoulos

University of Toronto

t.triadafilopoulos@utoronto.ca

Paper Award

Award for best paper on migration and/or citizenship presented at the previous APSA annual meeting (either as part of a panel or poster session).  Send one electronic copy of a paper presented at APSA 2013 to each committee member by March 31, 2014.

Best Paper Award Selection Committee 2014:

Janelle Wong (Chair)

University of Maryland

janellew@umd.edu

Deborah Milly

Virginia Tech

djmilly@vt.edu

Martin Ruhs

University of Oxford

martin.ruhs@conted.ox.ac.uk

Leave a Reply