Introductions

Tagged: 

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 165 total)
  • Author

Welcome to the forum for the Human Rights and Migration course offered by the Zolberg Institute. Please take a minute to introduce yourself.

Martuolivera90
    Participant

Good afternoon!
    My name is Martina Olivera and I am a human rights lawyer, graduated from the University of Buenos Aires, Argentina. Currently I am working as a Peace Observer and Advocate in the Swedish Movement for Reconciliation (Swefor) in a project based in Chiapas, México.

We work directly with human rights defenders who suffer threats and attacks because of their labor in favor of human rights. The work consist in accompanying the human rights defenders through physical presence in their activities and travels; interaction and advocacy with authorities and public institutions, including facilitation of contact between these and the human rights defenders; and strengthening of capacities in security analysis and security measures.

We also work with migrants coming through the south border, with international observation in order to make sure that all human rights are correctly fulfilled, and no human rights violations are committed.

Before this job I have worked in some places in the Human Rights field -including the OHCHR, the Inter-American Court of Human Rights and some positions in Argentina-, and have also participated in some research projects, one of them on migrants’ rights.

It is a pleasure to be part of this course and thanks for this incredible and useful platform!

Kind regards and please be safe!
    Martina

Alison Jane
    Participant

Hello Everyone!